Materials and Interfaces

The Materials and Interfaces research group combines an industrial focus with a commitment to understanding underlying research problems from a fundamental physico-chemical perspective. Complementary research interests are driving the development of leading-edge materials, as well as efficient and robust manufacturing processes.

Graphene Integrated Functional Technologies (GIFT) Research

researchers in the lab

Emerging strengths include graphene-based technologies and application, such as super-hydrophobic coatings, electrically conductive graphene/polymer composites, the formulation of graphene inks, the printing of electrochemical energy devices (supercapacitors, battery components) and graphene-based sensors.

Liquid Phase Exfoliation of Graphene

Liquid Phase Exfoliation of Graphene

Researchers at the Graphene/GIFT Research Cluster are developing scalable production methods for production of graphene through graphite exfoliation from graphite.

Research Faculty

Names Rank Contact

Dominik P.J. Barz
Associate Professor dominik.barz@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 213
613-533-6000 ext. 79470


Aris Docoslis

Professor docoslis@queensu.ca 
Dupuis Hall 208
613-533-6949

Marianna Kontopoulou
Professor marianna.kontopoulou@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 207
613-533-3079

Louise Meunier
Assistant Professor louise.meunier@queensu.ca 
Dupuis Hall 211
613-533-6000 ext. 78048

Brant A. Peppley
Professor brant.peppley@queensu.ca 
Dupuis Hall G09
613-533-3247/547-6700

Polymer Science and Technology

Polymer reseacrhers in the lab.jpg

The department has a particularly strong research concentration in macromolecular science and technology, with research expertise spanning the entire range of polymer science and engineering, from polymer reaction chemistry and engineering, to chemical modification, processing and rheology of polymers and polymer nanocomposites. Centralized state-of-the-art instrumentation provides fundamental insight into the molecular and bulk physical properties of polymers needed to design novel materials and optimize their properties. Researchers use state-of-the-art instrumentation and models to provide fundamental insight into the molecular and bulk physical properties of polymers used to design novel materials.

 Photo: Molecular coordinates installed on a center-beaded regular tetrahedral (4-arm star) star. Steacy Coombs, PhD Candidate

Photo: Molecular coordinates installed on a center-beaded regular tetrahedral (4-arm star) star. Steacy Coombs, PhD Candidate

Expertise in biopolymers and biomaterials includes hydrogels, scaffold material for tissue regeneration, encapsulation of bioactive materials and bio-based/biodegradable polymers.

Research Faculty

Names Rank Contact

Brian Amsden
Professor brian.amsden@queensu.ca
BioSci 4632
613-533-3093

Michael F. Cunningham
Professor michael.cunningham@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 315
613-533-2782

Jeffrey Giacomin
Professor giacomin@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 314
613-533-2768

Robin Hutchinson
Professor robin.hutchinson@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 426
613-533-3097

Scott Parent
Professor scott.parent@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 409
613-533-6266
Image Preview Professor kim.mcauley@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall G11
613-533-6000 ext. 77973

Bio/Chemical Sensor Development

Researchers are developing nanostructured (bio)chemical sensors, nanonstructured hybrid metal/graphene sensors, as well as lab-on-a-chip devices. Major research strengths include microfluidics for studying cells at the single-microorganism level, electrokinetics, nanoplasmonics, electrochemistry, and interfacial and transport phenomena.

Bio chemical sensor dev

Research Faculty

Names Rank Contact

Aris Docoslis
Professor docoslis@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 208
613-533-6949

Carlos Escobedo
Associate Professor carlos.escobedo@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 209
613-533-3095

Energy Storage

Printing of Graphene supercapacitor electrodes

Photo: Printing of Graphene supercapacitor electrodes

Related research areas include metallic and hybrid metal/2D-material nanostructures, portable and wearable sensors, miniaturized energy storage applications (micro-batteries) and directed nanoparticle assembly into functional structures and devices.

Research Faculty

Names Rank Contact

Dominik P.J. Barz
Associate Professor dominik.barz@queensu.ca
Dupuis Hall 213
613-533-6000 ext. 79470